Becoming a Proverbs Devotee

I heard somewhere about a man who decided to read a chapter in Proverbs every day for 31 days, then repeating the cycle for a year.  His response was that it changed his life forever.  Why for 31 days?  Because there are only 31 chapters in Proverbs.  Why did it change his life so dramatically?  I’m sure it was because of the wisdom in every word of every verse in all 31 chapters.  Proverbs is a book in the old testament that provides great wisdom from God to man to live by on earth.  It will keep us out of trouble if we apply it to our lives, and it will help us to just make better all-around decisions.

I have been reading a chapter in Proverbs for the past 5 mornings, committed to doing this daily.  Not so I can get something tangible out of doing so, but because I am always striving to be a better person, and I want to follow God more closely and walk in His wisdom.  I’m tired of the cycle of mistakes and missed opportunities in my life and I’m trying to do something about it.  So far in the 1st five chapters of Proverbs, it has opened my eyes to some foolish choices I made in the past, led me to reflect on how those choices changed the course of my life, and how I desire to be on the right path in my life.  It’s brought some conviction to my heart, and I’ve repented for actions and thought patterns I’ve harbored for a long time.  This is how Proverbs is beginning its cycle of change in me.  I am thankful we all have access to a living God who loves us all so much that He gave us His Word to live by.  How are you applying His Word to your life?

Leave a Reply

